Skip to Content

Tan Sri Dato' Dr. Jegathesan a/l N .M. Vasagam @ Manikavasagam

Age: 72 years

Nationality: Malaysia


  • Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery,University of Singapore
  • Diploma in Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, Mahidol University, Thailand
  • Diploma in Clinical Pathology, University of London
  • Fellow, Royal College of Pathologists, United Kingdom
  • Fellow of the College of American Pathologists, America
  • Fellow, Royal College of Pathologist of Australia
  • Fellow, Academy of Medicine, Malaysia
  • Senior Fellow (Academician), Academy of Sciences, Malaysia

Position on the Board
Independent Non-Executive Director

Date Appointed to the Board
30 March 2006

Working Experience and Occupation

Tan Sri Dato’ Dr. Jegathesan began his career serving in numerous government departments in the Ministry of Health, culminating in the position of Deputy Director General (Research and Technical Support) from 1994 until 1998. After a full term career in the Ministry of Health, he served as Medical Advisor to the UNDP affiliated Council for Health Research for Development in Geneva from 1998 to 2000, thereafter as Chief Executive Officer of Sistem Hospital Awasan Taraf until 2003. He currently holds positions as Consultant Pathologist, BP Healthcare Group, Consultant Microbiologist and Head, Laboratory, Sunway Hospital and Pro- Chancellor, Universiti Sains Malaysia. His other crowning achievements were when he was a participant in the Asian Games in Jakarta in 1962, where he was the first Malaysian to win a gold medal at an Asian Games, repeating the feat at the next Games in 1966 and dubbed the “fastest man in Asia.” He was also Malaysia’s first Sportsman of the Year in 1966. On the medical front, he was the joint winner of the National Science Award in 1995. 

Membership of Board Committees

  • Member, Nomination and Remuneration Committee
  • Member, Audit and Risk Management Committee

Directorships of Other Public Companies

  • None
Dato' Azmi bin Mohd Ali Non Independent Non Executive Director
Tan Sri Dato' Dr. Abu Bakar bin Suleiman Non-Independent Non-Executive Chairman
YB Dato' Hajah Normala Binti Abdul Samad Non-Independent & Non-Executive Chairman
Tan Sri Dato' Dr. Jegathesan a/l N .M. Vasagam @ Manikavasagam Non-Independent & Non-Executive Chairman
Datuk Alias bin Ali Non-Independent & Non-Executive Chairman
Dato Haji Ghazali bin Awang Non-Independent & Non-Executive Chairman
Dato' Mohamad Kamarudin bin Hassan Non-Independent & Non-Executive Chairman
Dr Byung - Geon Rhee Non-Independent & Non-Executive Chairman
Tan Sri Siti Sa'diah Binti Sh Bakir Non-Independent & Non-Executive Chairman
Dato´ Azmi bin Mohd Ali

Last updated : 15 Jan 2018

© Copyright 2018 Chemical Company of Malaysia Bhd. All Rights Reserved.